< Back to lineup< Back to Schedule

Layten Kramer


In October 2014, Layten Kramer released his first EP Through The Days, after spending a long winter in the Pacific Northwest. The EP featured acclaimed song Sea of Glass that was put into rotation on CBC Radio 2. Shortly thereafter Kramer embarked on a tour across Western Canada where he and his bandmates cut their teeth on the road. Both his EP and the tour were well received garnering acclaim within the Canadian music sphere, including the JUNO Awards, Ride The Tempo, and Digital Journal. In April 2016, Kramer released his first full-length LP collaborating with JUNO Award Winning Producer and dear friend Colin Stewart (Dan Mangan, Yukon Blonde, Sleepy Sun). Featured on the record were also the musical styling’s of Kathryn Calder of The New Pornographers and Geoff Hillhorst of The Deep Dark Woods. For the Sun, embodies a change in direction taking Kramer’s recognized folk sound and adding experimental song structure and lush, psychedelic soundscapes, all the while maintaining intriguing lyrics and catchy, clever hooks. This release was followed up by two very successful tours in the west and the signing to Oscar Street Records. Kramer’s most recent release ‘Glory’ (2018) is a haunting collection of songs that explore the perspective of individuals, both internally and externally, when exposed to the reality of heartbreak and mental illness. “The time we spend learning and struggling with who we are and who the people are around us often amounts to a valuable lesson,” says Kramer, “and what we find at the end of each lesson is a little bit of glory. The collection of songs is intended to highlight the incredible resilience each and every person has in my life.” Paired with stunning instrumentation and clever arrangements, Kramer’s recognized psychedelic-folk sound has transcended into a gritty acid-western aesthetic.

Coming Soon